Dean Awards Inaugural Teaching Innovation Grants

Congratulations to the recipients of four Dean’s Teaching Innovation Awards. Part of SHP’s Intramural Grants program, the grants support proposals in areas such as educational outcomes research, development of new curricula, and/or development of new teaching or assessment methodologies

Prinicipal Investigator Annette Backs, assistant professor in Psychiatric RehabilitationAnnette Backs, with co-investigators Tameika Minor, David Kietrys, Laura Byham-Gray and Barbara Caldwell Title: Interprofessional Education for Opioid Assessment, Treatment, and Recovery



Tracy DavisPrincipal Investigator: Tracy Davis, assistant professor in Health Sciences, Aging track, with co-investigator Amanda Soka, (University of Arizona) Title: Developing an Educational Program on Aging for High School Students



Amy SpagnoloPrincipal Investigator Amy Spagnolo, associate professor in Psychiatric Rehabilitation And Psychology, with co-investigators Yuane Jia, Pamela Rothepletz-Puglia, Nora Barrett, Ann Murphy, Peter Basto Title: Validation of a Peer Observation for Teaching Evaluation Tool


Michelle ZechnerPrincipal Investigator: Michelle Zechner, assistant professor in Psychiatric Rehabilitation, with co-investigators Matthew McQuillan, Liz DiProspero, Matthew Wright, Ann Murphy, Sean Karyczak Title: Improving Physician Assistant Confidence and Skill in Working with People with Serious Mental Illness