Alumni, Faculty and Students Recognized at ASCLS-NJ Conference 

Rutgers School of Health Professions faculty, alumni, and students received numerous awards and honors at the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science-New Jersey Chapter – Spring Seminar and Expo on April 11.

Among those honored were Ruth Perez, faculty member in the Medical Laboratory Science program, who was named 2019 Outstanding Educator of the Year, and Jasmin Rider,  a student in the BS Medical Laboratory Science program, who was named 2019 Outstanding Student of the Year.

MLS Faculty Member Ruth PerezMs. Perez, a Hematology and Immunohematology course instructor and clinical coordinator was recognized for her teaching skills and  innovation. She was the first faculty to bring interactive games into the MLS program, and is always investigating new and creative teaching strategies, according to Deb Josko, Ph.D., program director.

Jasmin Rider, MLS and EOF studentMs. Rider has excelled academically and is a leader among her peers. She is in the top 5% of her class, and serves as president of the newly formed MLS Association at SHP, and was chosen to serve as a student ambassador for the school. She is quick to volunteer for activities, and is “always willing to go the extra mile,” said Dr. Josko.

Other honors and awards included:

MLS Scholarships
Jennifer Marin – $1000 MLS Scholarship – 2nd BS degree
Katelyn Wisniewski – $1000 MLS Scholarship – joint degree with Kean University

‘Key to the Future’ Award
Katelyn Wisniewski – joint degree with Kean University
Nataly Fernandez – joint degree with Rutgers NCAS

Graduate Scholarships
Carolina Vilchez – MLS and CLS alumni and PhD student Rutgers University – $1000 scholarship
Rose Hanna MLS and CLS alumni and DCLS student – $1000 scholarship

Closing Keynote Speaker
Dr. Brandy Gunsolus – First DCLS graduate in the country – 2018 Rutgers SHP graduate

ASCLS-NJ Elected Officer
Carolina Vilchez – elected as President – Elect 2019-2020

Omicron Sigma Outstanding Service Awards
Nadine Fydryszewski – Vice Chair – Department of CLMIS – ASCLS – Region II Directora
Carolina Vilchez – MLS and CLS alumni and adjunct professor – SHP
Cynthia Dixey – MLS and CLS alumni
Eunice Canabas – MLS alumni
Jackson Shaw – MLS alumni
Kareem Elnahrawi – MLS alumni
Katelyn Wisniewski –  MLS joint degree Kean University – Class of 2019
Marietta Tomlin – MLS and CLS alumni
Mary Ann Murillo – MLS alumni
Nataly Fernandez – MLS joint degree with Rutgers NCAS – Class of 2019
Quang Nguyen – MLS Alumni
Rebecca Nemeh – MLS Alumnni and ASCLS-NJ Past President
Shannon Delaney – MLS Alumni
Upasana Parekh – MLS Alumni

Awards were given out by John Frederick – ASCLS-NJ President and MLS ’18 graduate – joint degree with NJIT