Rutgers Physician Assistant Program TOEFL Policy

Applicants who received their degrees outside of the U.S. are required to take the TOEFL exam, unless they have obtained a Bachelor's degree or higher in a country where English is the official language and English is the applicant's primary language. If an applicant has an Associate's degree from the U.S., TOEFL scores are required. Exceptions will be considered for those who attend a postsecondary institution which was taught in English. Those applicants who wish to request an exemption should submit a request in writing to pa-info@shp.rutgers.edu. The request should include documentation of the postsecondary institution's use of English for instruction.

The Program has the following requirements for TOEFL scores for the web-based test:

- A minimum total score of 100
- A minimum reading score of 22
- A minimum listening score of 22
- A minimum speaking score of 26
- A minimum writing score of 24

TOEFL scores should be submitted directly to CASPA. The TOEFL Designated Institution Code is **3709.** TOEFL scores remain valid for 2 years after the test date. Because language proficiency can change considerably in a relatively short period of time, TOEFL scores more than 2 years old cannot be reported or verified. The Program will superscore if an applicant submits multiple exam results.

Please contact the Program if you are unsure if you are required to submit TOEFL scores.

Revised: January 2019, October 2019, October 2021

Countries that have English as a Primary Language*

American Samoa	Federal States of Micronesia	Namibia	South Africa
Anguilla	Fiji	Nauru	Sri Lanka
Antigua and Barbuda	Ghana	New Zealand	Swaziland
Australia	Grenada	Nigeria	The Gambia
Bahamas	Guam	Niue	Tonga
Barbados	Guyana	Northern Mariana Islands	Trinidad and Tobago
Belize	India	Pakistan	Tuvalu
Botswana	Ireland	Philippines	U.S. Virgin Islands
British Virgin Islands	Jamaica	Rwanda	Uganda
Burnei Darussalam	Kenya	Saint Helena	United Kingdom (England, Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland)
Cameroon	Kiribati	Saint Kitts and Nevis	United States
Canada	Lesotho	Saint Lucia	Vanuatu
Canada	Liberia	Seychelles	Zambia
Cayman Islands	Malawi	Sierra Leone	Zimbabwe
Cook Islands	Marshall Islands	Singapore	
Dominica	Mauritius	Solomon Islands	

Drafted: October 2018

Revised: January 2019, October 2019, October 2021

^{*}SHP School Policy 1.5.1 Applicant Fluency in English